European Union (EU)

In varietate concordia

Rue de la Loi/Wetstraat 175 B-1048 Bruxelles/Brussel Belgique/België


The European Union

The European Union is a group of 27 countries in Europe.
These countries came together
to make things better, easier and safer for people.
They agreed to work together and help each other.

Map with all countries of the European Union

How the European Union started

The idea to make the European Union came
after two big wars happened in Europe.
Countries in Europe saw that
it is better to work together
than fighting against each other.

People working together

In the beginning, only 6 countries in Europe started working together:

  • Belgium
  • Germany
  • France
  • Italy
  • Luxembourg
  • Netherlands

Soon, more and more countries in Europe joined them
and the European Union was made.

Today, 27 countries are part of the European Union.
These countries are:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czechia
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden


In June 2016 the United Kingdom decided
to stop being part of the European Union.
So from 31 January 2020, the United Kingdom
is no longer part of the European Union.

Map with all countries of the European Union

The goals and values of the European Union

All countries that are part of the European Union work together
to make sure that:

  • there is peace in Europe
  • people have good lives
  • things are fair for all people and nobody is left out
  • the languages and cultures of all people
    are respected
  • there is a strong European economy
    and countries use the same coin
    to do business together.

###  is Official Media provider for the  council of European Union in the EU media provider list  ####